Aug 15, 2016

Marc D. Jonas, Esq. Named 2017 Lawyer of the Year for Land Use and Zoning Law in the Philadelphia Area

Jonas_MMarc D. Jonas, Esq. has been named the 2017 Lawyer of the Year for Land Use and Zoning Law in Philadelphia by The Best Lawyers in America®.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and community is honored with a “Lawyer of the Year” award. Since 2012, Mr. Jonas has been repeatedly selected by his peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® in two fields — Land Use and Zoning Law as well as Litigation in Land Use and Zoning.

A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Pennsylvania Law School, Mr. Jonas has established a reputation as one of the preeminent land use attorneys in Pennsylvania with extensive experience in real estate, land use/zoning, and municipal law, representing individuals, businesses, and municipal boards. He currently serves as Solicitor to Kennett Square Borough and as Solicitor to the Zoning Hearing Boards of Towamencin, Upper Merion, and Lower Salford Townships. Following his service in the United States Air Force Reserve, Mr. Jonas began his legal career as law clerk to President Judge James S. Bowman of the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania. He is a previous board chairman of the Montgomery County Planning Commission.

Mr. Jonas’ credentials are significant in terms of both his experience and peer recognition. He is a frequent lecturer for the Pennsylvania Bar Institute and the Montgomery Bar Association Real Estate Committee. Based on endorsements from colleagues and clients, Mr. Jonas has been selected for inclusion in Real Estate/Land Use law by Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business; selected for inclusion in Pennsylvania Super Lawyers magazine; selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® in the field of Land Use and Zoning law and Litigation in Land Use and Zoning law; and he is rated AV® Preeminent™ by Martindale-Hubbell.

Best Lawyers® began designating “Lawyers of the Year” in the U.S. in high-profile legal practice areas in 2009. “Lawyer of the Year” recognitions are awarded to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic location. Only one lawyer is recognized as the “Lawyer of the Year” for each specialty and location, making this accolade particularly significant.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers® lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation. Over 79,000 leading attorneys globally are eligible to vote, and Best lawyers® has received more than 12 million votes to date on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2016 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, 6.7 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 55,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers® is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers® “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.” Click here to learn more about Best Lawyers® methodologies.

Return to Media

Media Contact

Media Archives

News from our Archives

Media Categories

Choose by related field