Feb 07, 2020

Eastburn and Gray Names Grace M. Deon, Esq. President and CEO

With just seven years until the firm’s 150th anniversary, Eastburn and Gray, P.C. is pleased to announce the election of Grace M. Deon as the firm’s new President and CEO. She succeeds D. Rodman Eastburn.

Ms. Deon, a resident of Northampton Township and a past President of the Bucks County Bar Association, is the first woman to lead a major law firm headquartered in Bucks County. Her Presidency comes on the heels of the election, earlier this year, of two new female shareholders: Erin Kernan Aronson and Sarah A. Eastburn. “We believe strongly in talent and hard work and these three women personify both qualities,” said Mr. Eastburn. “Grace’s elevation to the Presidency is no accident.”

Ms. Deon’s practice includes employment, commercial and special education litigation. She has been an attorney with the firm for nearly 30 years and served on its management committee for the past eight. Her new role will be in addition to overseeing her very active legal practice. Asked to comment on her new role, Ms. Deon responded, “It is an honor to lead one of the most prominent law firms in the Delaware Valley into the next decade.”

Ms. Deon’s election is part of the firm’s plan, long in the making, to transition its leadership to a new generation of its shareholders. Joining Ms. Deon on the firm’s 2020 management committee will be Robert M. Cox, Kimberly Litzke, Henry E. VanBlunk, Julie L. Von Spreckelsen and Robert R. Watson, Jr. This leadership team includes lawyers with diverse practice portfolios, who are leaders in their practice areas, and have all served the firm and its clients for many years.

Mr. Cox, a resident of Doylestown, will serve as Treasurer and oversee the finances of the firm. He is a member of the firm’s Education, Business and Corporate Law practice and previously served on the firm’s management committee for the past eight years.

Ms. Litzke, a resident of Warrington Township, will serve as Secretary. She is the chair of the firm’s Family Law practice group and she has served on the firm’s management committee for the past four years.

Mr. Van Blunk, Ms. VonSpreckelsen, and Mr. Watson will also serve as members on the newly composed management committee. Mr. Van Blunk, a resident of Yardley, is a member of the firm’s Banking, Business and Corporate Law, Public Finance, and Wills Trusts and Estates practice groups. Ms. VonSpreckelsen, a resident of Upper Dublin, is a member of the firm’s Land Use and Zoning, Real Estate and Municipal Law practice areas. Mr. Watson, a resident of Collegeville, is a member of the firm’s
Construction Law, Litigation and Municipal Law practice groups. He has served on the firm’s management committee for the past four years.

Stepping down from the management committee are D. Rodman Eastburn, Derek J. Reid, John A. VanLuvanee and Thomas F.J. MacAniff. All are continuing as active shareholders with busy practices and will be available as mentors to the new team. “The truth is we need to position the firm for future growth, and I can think of no one in whom I have greater confidence than Grace and her new team,” said Mr. Eastburn.

Eastburn and Gray, with offices in Doylestown, Bucks County and Blue Bell, Montgomery County, is one of the oldest and largest law firms in Pennsylvania and has proudly served the legal community since 1877.

Return to Media

Media Contact

Media Archives

News from our Archives

Media Categories

Choose by related field